True Estate Transfers | Mt. Airy Information

Updated list of Surry County Sports Hall of Famers

The Surry County Sports Corridor of Fame and Ring of Honor has worked to enshrine the biggest nearby athletics figures at any time considering the fact that its inaugural course was declared in 2006.

There have been 140 county athletes, coaches, groups, directors and influential community customers honored as members of just one of the two distinctive teams.

With previous year’s induction of six persons, the Corridor of Fame now attributes 100 customers. The Hall is devoted to people and their respective achievements. Associates of the Corridor of Fame include things like a slew previous faculty athletes, coaches that are renowned statewide, some of which are nevertheless energetic, and administrators that aided market athletics of all forms.

The Ring of Honor can aspect possibly men and women or a team. This features report-location groups of the previous century as properly as folks that promoted athletics outdoors of a coaching or administrative part.

Two new associates have been released to the Ring of Honor each 12 months since 2015, with as many as four per year ahead of that. The RoH currently features 40 members.

The Surry County Parks and Recreation Division just lately opened programs for the Corridor of Fame and Ring of Honors classes of 2021. As the county looks for new faces to immortalize, we choose a look back again at all those earlier inducted into just about every category.


• 2006 — John Charles, Barry Corridor, Jerry Hemmings, Jerry Hollingsworth, Ron King, Rex Mitchell, Wallace Shelton, Kevin Strickland

• 2007 — Charles D. Atkins, Delmer Atkins, Tom Childress, Richard Grissom, Charles Moir, Sam Moir, Tony Searcy, Terry Strickland

• 2008 — Angela Harbour Mayfield, Benny Moss, Bobby Atkins, Fred Folger Jr., Jerry Steele, John Hamilton, John Yokley

• 2009 — Jack Childress, Todd Greenwood, Wayne Motsinger, Natalie Nester, Richard Patterson, Bobby Timmons

• 2010 — James Edwin Holleman, Sara White McMillen, Judy Vaughn Johnson, Mike Cooke, Billy Cox, Benjamin Callahan III, Larry McCann, James (Jimmy) Hiatt

• 2011 — James Brim, Dennis France, Jeff Hayes, Derrick Hill, Randy Dale Joyce, Amber Watson Reid, Jim Wilmoth, Bernie Young

• 2012 — John B. Anderson, Ed Callaway, Donald Davis Sr., Blois “Bud” Grissom, Richard Hauser, F.A. Martin, Ben Norman, Kelly Jack Swift

• 2013 — John Charles Jr., Mike Chatham, Gordon Jones, James Daniel Lynch, Jarret Martin, Robert “Doc” Wall

• 2014 — Alfred “Chubby” Dean, Deane Corridor, Tina Lane Heafner, Melanie Bledsoe Hudspeth, Robert Smith

• 2015 — William Hawks, Faye Danley Hudson, Tony Martin, Tyler Sanborn, Brent Steelman, Linda Steelman

• 2016 — Brenda Wall Bledsoe, Steven Caudill, David Diamont, Tony George, Vickie Hardy, Will Holthouser

• 2017 — Johnny Coble, Rebel Good, Neal Joyner, Michael Richardson, Frank “Shine” White, Keith Whitman

• 2018 — James Blackburn, Keri Whitehead Campbell, Scott Hauser, Harry Monday, Sarah Parker Stroud, Willard Lee Swift

• 2019 — Ernie Beamer, Lonnie Bledsoe, Chadwick Casstevens, Tony Duncan, James Hayes, Kelley Karns

• 2020 — Kelly Holder, Justin Jones, Richard Godwin Joyce, David Mabe, Ted McBride, Joe Simmons Jr.


• 2006 —1963 East Surry High School soccer workforce, Tom York, Ronald Johnson, 1989 North Surry High Faculty basketball crew

• 2007 — Gary York, 1946-1950 Mount Ethereal Graniteers, 1967 North Surry Substantial College basketball group, Floyd Rees

• 2008 — Dr. Skip Whitman, Eddie Wilmoth, Barney Corridor, 2003 East Surry Minor League Senior Softball Environment Collection champs

• 2009 — Charles Earnest, Terry Pruett

• 2010 — Ronald Boyles, 1965 Surry Central Substantial School football staff, 1964 East Surry Large School basketball group

• 2011 — Fred Patterson, 1967 Elkin Large University football team, Chatham Blanketeers

• 2012 — 2002 Mount Airy Significant College boys basketball crew, Robert H. Moody, Al Peavy, Keri W. Campbell, Christie Sanders

• 2013 — 1934 Dobson Higher College basketball crew, 2003 Elkin Higher College soccer crew

• 2014 — 1935 Dobson Significant University basketball team

• 2015 — 1933 Dobson Higher College basketball workforce, Roy Vernon

• 2016 — 2001 East Surry Large University ladies basketball group, David Beal

• 2017 — Wayne Edmonds, Jimmy Miller

• 2018 — Ann Hollar Garner, Jim Hemric

• 2019 — Catrina Alexander, Linda Davis

• 2020 — Catherine Cloukey, Ricky Thomas